23-06-2012 saturday 3rd cruise completed - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Joeb Koppenrade - WaarBenJij.nu 23-06-2012 saturday 3rd cruise completed - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Joeb Koppenrade - WaarBenJij.nu

23-06-2012 saturday 3rd cruise completed

Door: joebkoppenrade

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joeb

23 Juni 2012 | Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

We did the eastern route again, I prefer this eastern cruise above the western one. The city centres are nearer to the port or nicer to walk. But I still need to find some big superstores in the ports (apart from Cozumel)
At least once a week there is a drill for the crew. It always starts with ‘Bravo- bravo - bravo’, very often combined with ‘Alpha – alpha - alpha’ this is to create panic and chaos.
Bravo means: Fire, collision, grounding , explosion, flooding or oil spil.
Alpha means: medical emergency. Always followed by the location. It is always fire, quite often with smoke flares. When the ships whistle goes 7 short 1 long, al crew has to assemble. At this assembling station your number is called and you get various answers. One drill was crap, my number was not mentioned, I could have drowned in a real disaster and nobody would have missed me, in the end they scan your board pass to check if you took part in the drill.
During another drill I complained to one of the officers and said that I fell cremated after standing for ten minutes in a fire, until somebody told me that the landing where I stood was on fire. Something wrong with the crew management. They kept the fire doors closed, but forgot to look every so often if somebody was behind.... At the end of these drills we are lined up and walk round the ship. In the beginning I didn’t understand this part, it always ended on deck 2 without instructions. Soon after this the captain comes on the audio system saying the drill is over. Now I know, in real emergency it ends up in the life rafts...
I gave the flower lady a serenade and played her a love song, of course I went on my knees for her, when I was finished I took her hand and put a little kiss on it. The audience really enjoyed this little act according to the cheers, hurrah’s and clapping. They must have thought there was a little romance going on...
Guest sometimes tells me they find this boat too big compared with the other boats. But they want to sail with the biggest of the world and some want to sail them all!!! I’m not surprised anymore if they say I sailed all the Carnival and Caribbean ships several times. You find these people on the helideck for their free glass of champagne.
Thursday night is the captains night, almost everybody is nicely dressed up to get their photo taken with the captain.

Photo’s: 2 Flow riders on deck 15 back of the ship
Other photo The back of the ship, but if you look carefully you see a man sitting the spoiler right. Yes you need a magnifying glass..

I’m still enjoying my stay, and get good write up’s about my playing.

Joeb, Piper of the Caribbean

  • 23 Juni 2012 - 21:10

    Sjors:

    Hoi Joeb

    Het lijkt me een geweldige ervaring.
    Mooie foto's

    Goeie reis verder

    groet

    Sjors

  • 26 Juni 2012 - 14:50

    Jan And Susan:

    Dear Joeb,
    We are glad you are still enjoying yourself - still got 70 days to go!
    Have you had your photo taken yet with the Captain?
    Even with a magnifying glass we cannot see the man sitting on the right!
    One would think that with all the compulsory safety drills the crew would lose interest after a time and be of little use if there really was a disaster.
    Like the photos.
    All the best love
    Jan and Susan

  • 10 Juli 2012 - 20:57

    Richard:

    Hebben ze nog niet in dienst genomen om het brandalarm met je doedelzak te spelen, lijkt mij ook een instrument wat hier bij uitstek geschikt voor is.
    Of als misthoorn. Het is maar een idee.
    gr. Richard

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

Joeb

Actief sinds 19 Jan. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 256
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19460

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Mei 2012 - 08 September 2012

Piper of the Caribbean

14 Augustus 2012 - 14 Augustus 2012

Monday 13-08-2012 At sea sailing to St. Thomas

Landen bezocht: